Mount Zion Boutique Hotel & Suites
facebook iner
Jerusalem Highlights

Religious Sites

The Kotel
The Kotel
  • The Old City – The Old City in Jerusalem is surrounded by a wall, and divided into quarters – the Muslim Quarter, the Jewish Quarter, the Christian Quarter, and the Armenian Quarter. Most of Jerusalem's religious sites are located in the Old City (the Western Wall, Al-Aqsa Mosque, Via Dolorosa). The narrow alleys in the Old City are paved with ancient stones, and filled with shops and restaurants that evoke a colorful Mediterranean market atmosphere.
  • The Western WallWhen the Second Temple was destroyed, its supporting walls, built during the time of King Herod the Great (37 BCE), survived. Due to the ban on visiting the Temple Mount (the actual site of the Temple), the Western Wall, which is now the site closest to the Temple’s Holy of Holies, has become a place of prayer to which Jews from around the world have come in order to cling to the remnants of their nation’s illustrious past. Throughout the generations, when Jews expressed their longing for Jerusalem through poetry, Judaica, documentation, jewelry, and prayers, Jerusalem’s image has always been etched in the form of the Western Wall.
    Western Wall Website – 
  • Church of the Holy Sepulcher – A large church built on the site where Jesus was crucified and buried. The church is located in the Christian quarter of the Old City of Jerusalem, in a place identified as Golgotha in the New Testament. It is considered to be the most important and sacred church in the world.
  • Via Dolorosa – Latin for the Way of Grief or the Way of Suffering. According to the Christian faith this is the path that Jesus took on his way to the crucifixion, which began at the courthouse and ended in Golgotha. It is called the Way of Suffering because of the hardships that Christians believe Jesus had to endure along this path. The Via Dolorosa begins in Jerusalem’s Muslim Quarter, at the Lions' Gate, and ends in the Christian quarter at the Church of the Holy Sepulcher. The Via Dolorosa includes 14 stations, including nine stations on the street itself, and five final stations in the Church of the Holy Sepulcher.
PrintTell a friend
Daronet Daronet Web Building